Greater Charlotte Championship 2010 (GCC)

The Queen City Chess Association (QCCA) celebrated this weekend its yearly signature event for the second year at the Holiday Inn Airport hotel. The QCCA Executive team leadership - Gary Newsom, Peter Giannatos, Mike Eberhardinger, and Fabio Hurtado - would like to thank all those who competed in our three day Greater Charlotte Championship event.

This year the GCC changed venues as well as format. The G/120 format allowed for some welcomed flexibility and a better pace as those who opted for the 2-day schedule were still able to play a standard G/120 Round 1 on Saturday morning. The GCC paid 100% of promised payout even though the tournament only drew 58 participants. The QCCA has followed a policy these past three years of giving back to its membership by guaranteeing prize funds, running free weekly tournaments, and providing lecture series and other member events at low or no cost.

The **Open Section** saw a three way tie for first place with Chris Mabe, Ronald Simpson, and Ade Ogunmefun scoring 4/5. Tianqui Wang, Douglas Holmes, and Bob Moore shared the Class prize with 3/5 points apiece. The Open Section was FIDE-rated.

In the **Under 1800** Michael Brown and Shouri Gottiparthi tied for first with 4/5 points, while Mark Bienacki came in sole possession of third place with 3.5/5. John Wright took the money for the Class award.

The **Under 1400** Alex Tong proved the only sole winner of a section by scoring 4.5/5 to top the section. Suraj Madiraju took second with 3.5/5, while third place and class prize was split by Walter High and Nathan Tong with 3/5.

Congratulations to all the winners.

The 5 qualifiers for the round-robin to decide the 2011 Greater Charlotte Champion will play in January on dates TBA. The five will join current 2010 Champion Josh Mu.

The qualifiers:

- 1. Chris Mabe
- 2. Ade Ogunmefun
- 3. Patrick McCartney
- 4. Tianqui Wang
- 5. Robert Moore

Player alternates in this order in case the above cannot compete:

- 6. David Stamper
- 7. Mladen Pauler
- 8. JP Flynn
- 9 Fabio Hurtado
- 10 Ken Baxter